The Four Shires Area

Four Shires History is centred around Swadlincote and Ashby-de-la-Zouch in the Midlands. It lies between the Needwood and Charnwood forests, and extends into North Warwickshire, South Derbyshire, East Staffordshire and West Leicestershire.

picture in Four Shires History of Barn at Appleby
Image of Melbourne in Four Shires History

Something for Everyone

Four Shires History aims to:

  • enrich people’s sense of place by exploring past lives
  • arrange great days out
  • post readable articles on local history
  • foster individual wellbeing and social inclusion

Other Benefits of Four Shires History

  • aids local community history projects
  • offers a range of illustrated talks
  • works with groups which research their heritage
  • provides opportunities to publish
  • and more!
Image of beasts on Saxon carving at Breedon

A Video Introduction

William Bates introduces the Four Shires concept in this YouTube video which includes pictures from Tutbury Castle.
If you would like to know more please visit our channel or get in touch. We’d love to hear from you!

A Debatable Point of View

Philip Stanhope, Earl of Chesterfield, Bretby Hall, 1748:

Speak of moderns without contempt, and of ancients without idolatry; judge them all by their merits, not by their ages.